...Create: DIY Projects

Iron-On T-Shirt Design

photo 3

I made these tanks as part the goody bags I assembled for my best friend’s Bachelorette Party. All the guests wore them to the aerial yoga class we had in the weekend itinerary. I realize it may not seem ideal for some to schedule a fitness class during a bachelorette party, but it was an obvious outing for our fitness blogger bride-to-be.

As you have probably gathered from the skyline image on the tank, the Bachelorette Weekend was in Chicago, IL. I found the image online, and used piktochart to create the text and banner layout.

photo 2 (1)

Next step was to buy transfer paper and print! I just bought cheap off-brand transfer paper from Walmart. The one imperative instruction for the transfer paper was to print using ink jet printer–as opposed to laser jet. I then cut out printed image, peeled off backing, and placed it on the shirt. Transfer sheets should come with a cover paper to place over image while ironing. With iron set to highest cotton setting, I ironed over the cover sheet.

photo 1

I decided to make tags for each guest (since size was relevant in gifting tanks). Also, since we were planning to wear these to a fitness class, I added onto the tag, “In sickness and in health.”photo 4

Leave a Reply

