...Create: DIY Projects

Contact Paper Photo Transfer

While searching for decorative ideas for my mom’s 60th birthday party, I came across this “Dressed Up Solo Cup” blog post.  I also highly recommend this tutorial for photo transfer to little glass candle holders. Since my mom’s birthday party was during the daytime, I opted for glass vases (from the dollar store…hint, hint). photo 5

Supplies:
clear contact paper
access to laser printer
regular computer paper
item you want to adhere decal to (I chose a vase)

 

Step 1: Cut photo to size. I found it beneficial to leave a border of plain paper around the image. Cut contact paper to accommodate full photo with border.

step 1

Tips: Some blogs suggested to make contact paper strip wide enough to fully wrap around glass once. I didn’t heed this piece of advice and my contact paper stuck on just fine.

Step 2: Peel off contact paper and stick adhesive side directly to printed image. Press down on both contact sticker side, and computer paper side to make sure there are no air bubbles.

photo 3-1

photo 4

It’s okay if contact paper extends past picture. Makes no impact on stickiness. Only thing to be cautious of is if the image is in line. You may need to trim edges to straighten photo orientation.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3: Dunk contact paper image in WARM water.
Let sit in water for about 7 minutes.

I found this step to be the most important, because this is the one that messed me up the first time I tried this craft. I didn’t find any issues arise with the water being too hot, but I did find that with cooler water the image doesn’t adhere to contact paper like it should in the end.

Step 4: Rub drenched computer paper off contact paper. It wasn’t easy to rub too harsh, but lots of bloggers warned not to rub inked image off contact paper.

On the other hand, you will find that if you rub too lightly not all of the computer paper will come off. If this happens you can always rewet the paper.

Finished product!photo 1-1

Leave a Reply

