...Create: DIY Projects

My Best Friend’s Wedding

My best friend is getting married this summer. This union will be the first of any of my significant friends. At this stage in my maturing adulthood the idea of friends getting married is still new and exciting. Later in my life, as more and more of my friends cross over the threshold, the tradition may lose some of its sparkle, but for now it is thrilling. However, there is one major disadvantageous aspect of celebrating love young, and that is an undeveloped bank account. Good thing craft-making and penny-pinching are two of my favorite hobbies! Allow me to share with you my creative contributions to the wedding process…

Bachelorette Party

photo-5photo-6

We traveled to Nashville for her bachelorette bash. I booked seats for the notorious Nash Trash bus tour, which allows its passengers to drink alcohol during the ride. To prepare for the jovial journey I made personalized water bottles and attached other goodies as the weekend’s party favors. We ended up not actually drinking on the bus tour because we needed a break from alcohol, but the arrangement made for a pretty and practical party favor.

I bought 32 oz, neon water bottles from the dollar store, wrote each attendees name on a bottle, and filled the bottles with jellybeans and chocolate covered raisins. I attached a goodie bag including a nail file, shot glass necklace, pocket mirror, and a ribbon that would be used as part of a game throughout the weekend.

Ribbon Game: Every guest ties a ribbon around their wrist and when the bride-to-be gets thirsty at the bar, she just goes up to one of her besties and unties their ribbon.

Bridal Shower

I love music and am rather found of my eclectic iTunes library. One of my all-time favorite gift ideas is creating a personalized playlist for a friend. Whenever the occasion arises—road trip, going away gift, birthday, mother’s day, Tuesday—I usually choose to commemorate with a mix of songs that depicts the event’s general theme. So of course, I opted to make a mixed CD as the party favors at the Bridal Shower.

IMG_03861.         I Will……………………………………The Beatles

2.         You Can’t Hurry Love………………….The Supremes

3.         Can’t Take My Eyes Off of You……….Lauryn Hill

4.         I Love You Always Forever……………Donna Lewis

5.         You Make My Dreams Come True……..Hall & Oates

6.         That’s How Strong My Love Is…………Otis Redding

7.         Put it in a Love Song…………………….Alicia Keys & Beyoncé

8.         Baby, I Need Your Loving………………Big Mountain

9.         I Will Be There…………………………..Britney Spears

10.    I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie…)………The Four Tops

11.      Kiss Me…………………………………..The CardigansIMG_0387

12.      Crazy In Love………………………..…. Beyoncé

13.      Sea of Love………………………..……..Cat Power

14.      Fool For You ft. Melanie Fiona…..………Cee Lo Green

15.      Impossible……………………..…………Daniel Merriweather

16.      Angel………………………..……………Dave Matthews Band

17.      This Love ………………….…………….Ellie Goulding

18.      All You Need Is Love……………………The Beatles

19.      Marry You………………………….…….Glee Cast

20.      This Old Heart of Mine.………………….Isley Brothers

21.      At Last………………………………….…Etta James

22.      I Will Survive…….……………………….Gloria Gaynor

Hilaryously,

favored

Leave a Reply

